Pick Up Your Mat & Walk

jimmy_carter

Jimmy Carter (39th President Of The United States) once said:

“I hate to see complacency prevail in our lives when it’s so directly contrary to the teaching of Christ.”

How many o us have ever been in a situation in which we were just comfortable with where we were? Have you ever been in a place in which you wallowed in failure or self pity? Today we are going to go over a little bit on this subject and we are going to cover two main things.

  1. What is your mat?
  2. Are you comfortable?

John 5:8

Jesus told him, “Stand up, pick up your mat and walk!”

What Is Your Mat & Are You Comfortable?

Have you ever took this unique look at this scripture? We all have our “mats” and we often sit and wallow in them because we are waiting for God to intervene for us completley without any effort from ourselves. But we actually have to meet God half way. In this scripture Jesus is saying, quit whining about your situation and pick it up take to God learn from it and move on.

But really what is your map? I remember a few years ago as I was attending Florida School Of Discipleship I had come to a place in which I was complacent in my poor performance in my academics and had become comfortable being on academic probation. What I did was whine a lot about my situation. Then one day God gave me this very message. He told me to quit whining and own up to my circumstance and instead of continuing with my poor performance to change my attitude and put in hard work. It shook my world and I was no longer depressed. Anyways simply put your mat is your place of complacency. So what is your mat? Are you like I was and comfortable with that mat?

Really take time and think and pray about what your mat may be, then give it to God and dot forget about it but use it as testimony of what God has done. For in Revelation 12:11 it says:

 And they have defeated him by the blood of the Lamb and by their testimony. And they did not love their lives so much that they were afraid to die.

So in closing I say challenge you:

Pick Up Your Mat & Walk

Leave a Reply

